How Many Freeze States Are There Now?


We support reforms to the financial marketplace that protect consumers from unscrupulous banks and lenders.

By Consumers Union on Thursday, May 17th, 2007

Many state legislatures have either wrapped up, or are in the process of winding down. If your state did not yet offer the security freeze, you may be in luck as a number of states have passed legislation to provide you with this preventative identity theft tool.

Wyoming, New Mexico, West Virginia, Montana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Maryland, North Dakota, Indiana have passed laws this session and Washington has expanded its security freeze to all consumers. Find out if you live in one of the 35 states or the District of Columbia which offers the security freeze to its residents, by going to and clicking on the map, or by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *